Thanks again for the amazing, last-minute accommodations for us on the Jewel team!
     After a high-stress few days of travel, shows, and appearances, we were on a hunt for a quality massage at a fair price. Unfortunately, our tricky schedules did not allow us time to travel offsite to utilize the spa, (which was conveniently located near the Uptown Theatre we played at) however, Dennis was more than accommodating toward us. Not only did he answer a late phone call inquiry from me, definitely after business hours, but devised a plan to help us decompress and de-stress at the venue!
Professional and polite, Ofelia accompanied by Michelle came to us, allowing us to continue show prep while another member of our team was treated to a delightful massage. The venue itself is not designed to accommodate a massage table, but Ofelia was so kind and made the most of a tight space, setting up a full service table, music, and aromatherapy that truly allowed us to escape. Three of us on the crew utilized her amazing skills, I personally received a deep tissue that relieved tension in my neck i'd felt for weeks.
     Thoroughly impressed, happily decompressed, and forever grateful to have found such great people to work with! Anyone questioning getting a service at Mais Oui - stop debating. Go do it. You'll thank me later.

Jillian Ferris
Jewel - Production Manager
Nashville, TN

My sister & I celebrated my birthday by getting the "Fall equinox coconut special" and it was such a relaxing & pampering experience. The package started with a couples hot stone coconut oil massage, followed by a mint facial & cranial massage & foot scrub, then ended with a coconut milk foot soak. Amazing. Michelle and Kaylee (I'm not sure of the spelling) really took care of us. We both agreed this was the best massage we had ever had. I love the way Kaylee took her time to work the kinks in my shoulders out then would therapeutically go over the area after. It wasn't a painful massage that I had to tough out. I enjoyed every minute of it. The hot coconut milk foot soak was really the cherry on top. It was the perfect ending. Thank you ladies for the memorable experience, we will definitely be back!

Aileen T.

Suisun City, CA

Yelp 5 STARS    10/2/2016

Stephanie P     Yelp Elite'17

San Jose, CA

Yelp 5 STARS   9/5/2016

Came here during a Bachelorette party and Dennis was awesome in helping coordinate our party of 8 ladies. Everything worked out smoothly and all the gals had a wonderful experience!

They were able to accommodate 4 ladies at a time, used two rooms with two girls in each. They were also able to accommodate a pregnant customer also!

No complaints at all! Great service.

Siobhan O

Napa, CA

Yelp 5 STARS   8/13/2016

I had a wonderful massage today. After a long, busy Summer it was refreshing to relax in their warm, inviting environment. My 75 min massage by Gram was much needed. His deep tissue massage was very effective at working my knots out. I highly recommend this business.

Olga R

Midtown Sacramento, CA

Yelp 5 STARS   8/6/16

Wonderful little message boutique. Great staff. 2 hour message, facial and foot massage.  Great place. Great price

Thanh H

San Pablo, CA

Yelp 5 STARS   6/15/2016

I was really in need a good spa day so I decided to look on yelp for day spas in Napa. I came across this one because it has almost a rating of 5 stars which caught my eye. I called and booked an appointment for 3 deluxe packages which included: a 50 minute massage, 20 minute body scrub, and a 20 minute facial. Since I was celebrating my birthday, they were really generous in including a hot stone massage in my package. The therapist I had was Anna. She was very professional and really nice. She did an amazing job because now my body feels less tense! The body scrub was fantastic and the facial was on point. My cousins and I had a very pleasant time here, as they both enjoyed their massages as well. It was our first time but we will be coming back

Cory P

Madison, WI

Yelp 5 STARS   5/28/2016

My husband and I got our first couples massage here, and it was wonderful. We were both very relaxed and happy after our massages. They are very accommodating, always asking if you're comfortable and how much pressure you'd like and what scent of massage oil you prefer. The prices are not bad either, it was $180 total for the two of us and we both agreed it was very worth it!

Ivette C

Richmond, CA

Yelp 5 STARS   2/9/2016

We headed here for a girls' day out. We enjoyed every bit of it. I enjoyed the massage intensely with hot stones. My masseuse hit every spot. I was so relaxed I almost fell asleep.

     Thanks again for the amazing, last-minute accommodations for us on the Jewel team!
     After a high-stress few days of travel, shows, and appearances, we were on a hunt for a quality massage at a fair price. Unfortunately, our tricky schedules did not allow us time to travel offsite to utilize the spa, (which was conveniently located near the Uptown Theatre we played at) however, Dennis was more than accommodating toward us. Not only did he answer a late phone call inquiry from me, definitely after business hours, but devised a plan to help us decompress and de-stress at the venue!
     Professional and polite, Ofelia accompanied by Michelle came to us, allowing us to continue show prep while another member of our team was treated to a delightful massage. The venue itself is not designed to accommodate a massage table, but Ofelia was so kind and made the most of a tight space, setting up a full service table, music, and aromatherapy that truly allowed us to escape. Three of us on the crew utilized her amazing skills, I personally received a deep tissue that relieved tension in my neck i'd felt for weeks.
     Thoroughly impressed, happily decompressed, and forever grateful to have found such great people to work with! Anyone questioning getting a service at Mais Oui - stop debating. Go do it. You'll thank me later.

Jillian Ferris
Jewel - Production Manager
Nashville, TN

My sister & I celebrated my birthday by getting the "Fall equinox coconut special" and it was such a relaxing & pampering experience. The package started with a couples hot stone coconut oil massage, followed by a mint facial & cranial massage & foot scrub, then ended with a coconut milk foot soak. Amazing. Michelle and Kaylee (I'm not sure of the spelling) really took care of us. We both agreed this was the best massage we had ever had. I love the way Kaylee took her time to work the kinks in my shoulders out then would therapeutically go over the area after. It wasn't a painful massage that I had to tough out. I enjoyed every minute of it. The hot coconut milk foot soak was really the cherry on top. It was the perfect ending. Thank you ladies for the memorable experience, we will definitely be back!

Aileen T.

Suisun City, CA

Yelp 5 STARS    10/2/2016

Stephanie P     Yelp Elite'17

San Jose, CA

Yelp 5 STARS   9/5/2016

Came here during a Bachelorette party and Dennis was awesome in helping coordinate our party of 8 ladies. Everything worked out smoothly and all the gals had a wonderful experience!

They were able to accommodate 4 ladies at a time, used two rooms with two girls in each. They were also able to accommodate a pregnant customer also!

No complaints at all! Great service.

Siobhan O

Napa, CA

Yelp 5 STARS   8/13/2016

I had a wonderful massage today. After a long, busy Summer it was refreshing to relax in their warm, inviting environment. My 75 min massage by Gram was much needed. His deep tissue massage was very effective at working my knots out. I highly recommend this business.

Olga R

Midtown Sacramento, CA

Yelp 5 STARS   8/6/16

Wonderful little message boutique. Great staff. 2 hour message, facial and foot massage.  Great place. Great price

Thanh H

San Pablo, CA

Yelp 5 STARS   6/15/2016

I was really in need a good spa day so I decided to look on yelp for day spas in Napa. I came across this one because it has almost a rating of 5 stars which caught my eye. I called and booked an appointment for 3 deluxe packages which included: a 50 minute massage, 20 minute body scrub, and a 20 minute facial. Since I was celebrating my birthday, they were really generous in including a hot stone massage in my package. The therapist I had was Anna. She was very professional and really nice. She did an amazing job because now my body feels less tense! The body scrub was fantastic and the facial was on point. My cousins and I had a very pleasant time here, as they both enjoyed their massages as well. It was our first time but we will be coming back

Cory P

Madison, WI

Yelp 5 STARS   5/28/2016

My husband and I got our first couples massage here, and it was wonderful. We were both very relaxed and happy after our massages. They are very accommodating, always asking if you're comfortable and how much pressure you'd like and what scent of massage oil you prefer. The prices are not bad either, it was $180 total for the two of us and we both agreed it was very worth it!

Ivette C

Richmond, CA

Yelp 5 STARS   2/9/2016

We headed here for a girls' day out. We enjoyed every bit of it. I enjoyed the massage intensely with hot stones. My masseuse hit every spot. I was so relaxed I almost fell asleep.

NAPA VALLEY REGISTER

Alisha Wyman

Health Spa Tries to Distinguish Itself in Crowded Field

Moves to Central Napa

Location, Location, Location

Wednesday - April 11, 2012 - Napa, CA

with Mais Oui Massage & Spa Services in Napa, a downtown haven set in a white Victorian.

Lernhart recently moved her business from a commercial center on Lincoln to the new building on Jefferson Street. It is one of two Mais Oui locations. The other operates in a Pullman railcar in Calistoga, and Lernhart rotates her time between the two spas.

Lernhart said “Mais Oui” — pronounced “may we” — is French for “but yes,” or “of course.” “I think it sounds pretty,” she said.

The Napa spa is decorated simply but elegantly, with light green and white walls and wood flooring. A waiting area contains a water feature and a small couch. The décor is designed to create a modern and polished environment, Lernhart said. She said she also strives to keep her spa exclusive and offer services at a reasonable price.

“We’re a very simple, basic, private spa,” she said. “It’s about you and your treatment, the quality of service that you get.”

Lernhart offers massage, facials, body scrubs, body soaks, body wraps, tea soaks, pedicures and manicures, and other spa services. Mais Oui also has packages that include combinations of a variety of spa treatments.

Prices range from $45 for 25-minute services such as a body mask, a tea soak or an express massage, to $195 for a 150-minute package that includes massage, a tea soak, a facial and other treatments.

Services are by appointment only for groups, couples or individuals, Lernhart said. Often a client is the only one at the spa during their treatment. She hosts about 70 appointments per month, she said.“People just like to know that we open up for them,” she said.

Lernhart has 10 practitioners who operate as independent contractors at the spa. She credits the women who have been with her the longest — Ofelia Gee, Julie Slagle and Tracy Valenzuela — for helping make her business successful.“Without them, I wouldn’t be where I’m at,” she said.

Mais Oui was nominated for Best of the Bay in 2010, and the Calistoga railcar spa was listed among the “world’s strangest spas” in Travel + Leisure magazine, Lernhart said.

Since Mais Oui moved to the downtown Napa building from the commercial center, Lernhart has seen her business pick up, she said.“People want location,” she said. “The setting makes a big difference.” Now both Mais Oui spas are in historic locations that are more than 100 years old, she said.

Lernhart has been a massage therapist for nine years. At the age of 23, she opened her own business on Lincoln Avenue in a room smaller than the reception area in the Napa spa.

Her father’s death when she was age 4 and her mother’s death when Lernhart was 23 created a drive in her to be independent and entrepreneurial, she said, adding she learned about the business aspects of running a spa as she went along.Lernhart designed the spa in memory of her parents, Denise Chuning and Mervin Lernhart, she said. Her sister is an esthetician and first introduced her to the industry, helping her to get her foot in the door, she said. Lernhart attended LifeStream Massage School and graduated in 2005. She plans to attend Le Melange Academy in Napa this fall to become an esthetician and nail tech.

Napa is a mecca for hospitality services, Lernhart said — the wine and food industry draw people from around the world and make it a natural fit for the spa industry.

Aside from relaxation, massage is beneficial for the heart, circulation and stress relief, she said. People are seeking a break from the hectic pace of modern-day life, and Lernhart enjoys providing that escape. “I just want to make it a unique experience,” she said. 

*Note:  After more than a decade of service in Napa, Mais Oui is now exclusively a mobile service providing the same high quality treatments in the luxury of your Vacation Rental, Hotel, B&B or Home throughout Napa and Sonoma Valleys and Beyond.

Travel & Leisure Magazine

When you board this authentic 1920s luxury Pullman railcar, go for the "roundtrip": a massage, an herbal facial, and a body scrub. The boutique spa is stationed at Napa Valley's Calistoga Train Depot, the second-oldest depot in California. Opened in December 2010, the train has only three cabins, with room for up to six—so be ready for an intimate trip. Staff up the kitsch factor by giving you train tickets when you enter the spa.

In a valley where spas fill the spaces between wineries, it can be a challenge to distinguish one from the competition. But that is what Michelle Lernhart, 27, seeks to do .

Mais Oui Massage & Mobile Day Spa

Napa Valley & Beyond

707-224-8500